Friday, February 26, 2010

SLASH's 'By The Sword' Streaming Now!

For the last year or so, fans have been tantalized with information on Slash's solo debut, a self-described rock 'n' roll roller coaster that features a who's who of guests from Iggy Pop, Ozzy Osbourne and Dave Grohl to Fergie, Chris Cornell and Kid Rock.Well, the album is every bit the rock 'n' roll monster you expect. But enough talk, more rock, you say.

Spinner is proud to present the premiere of Slash's 'By the Sword,' the album's lead single that features Andrew Stockdale. Starting with a sweet bluesy riff and the Wolfmother singer doing a pretty effective Robert Plant wail, the track picks up tempo as it finds Slash delivering a wicked, slow-rising solo that effortlessly segues from a grind into a guitar-hero moment then climaxes with a psychedelic rock barrage and Stockdale's impassioned vocals.

"'By the Sword' is a favorite of mine off the album," Slash tells Spinner. "I really enjoyed meeting and working with Andrew Stockdale. It was a solid collaborative effort and his voice is fantastic." When Stockdale jammed with Slash at the guitarist's November 2009 L.A. benefit for homeless kids, the two debuted the song live and Stockdale admitted before the show to Noisecreep that playing with the icon "was a little intimidating."

But you can't tell it from this song. "There was this invisible weight lifted off every person that came in and performed on it," Slash says. "They didn't have the pressure of having to deliver their next hit record, so I ended up getting amazing performances out of everybody."

Read more and listen here:

Slash: R&'FN'R Track Listing
01. Ghost (Ian Astbury, feat. Izzy Stradlin) (3:34)
02. Crucify The Dead (Ozzy Osbourne) (4:04)
03. Beautiful Dangerous (Fergie) (4:35)
04. Promise (Chris Cornell) (4:41)
05. By The Sword (Andrew Stockdale) (4:50)
06. Gotten (Adam Levine) (5:05)
07. Doctor Alibi (Lemmy) (3:07)
08. Watch This Dave (Dave Grohl, Duff McKagan) (3:46)
09. I Hold On (Kid Rock) (4:10)
10. Nothing To Say (M. Shadows) (5:27)
11. Starlight (Myles Kennedy) (5:35)
12. Saint Is A Sinner Too (Rocco De Luca) (3:28)
13. We're All Gonna Die (Iggy Pop) (4:30)

Bonus Tracks:
14. Baby Can't Drive (Alice Cooper, Nicole Scherzinger)
15. Paradise City (Fergie, Cypress Hill)

No comments:

Post a Comment